Your Cart is Empty

The Stark Reality

Discovers Hoagy Carmichael's Music Shop

The story of Stark Reality… Discovers The Hoagy Carmichael Music Shop begins with Hoagy Carmichael’s son, Hoagy Bix Carmichael. Nearing 30 and working on Wall Street, Bix wanted to do something more worthwhile. He relocated to Boston and started working at WGBH, one of the country’s most innovative PBS stations. There he met Monty Stark, WGBH’s resident “music man.” When Bix set out to create an all new WGBH program, Hoagy Carmichael’s Music Shop, a children’s show revolving around his father’s 1958 children’s album Hoagy Carmichael’s Havin’ A Party, Stark was tapped to do the music. The resulting reimagination of Hoagy Carmichael’s recording was used for the show, and issued on jazz pianist Ahmad Jamal’s AJP label. The recording features Monty Stark on vibes, saxophonist Carl Atkins, Phil Morrison on bass, Vinnie Johnson on drums and John Abercrombie on guitar.

For RSD Black Friday, Now-Again Records debuts a fresh reissue of this fascinating link between the great American song book, the jazz rock movement of the late ‘60s/early ‘70s and even hip-hop, being that Stark Reality… Discovers The Hoagy Carmichael Music Shop has been sampled by artists such as the Black Eyed Peas, Large Professor, J-Live and Madlib.

Includes 12” booklet with details, history and rare photos.

A Side
1. Merry Go Round
2. Junkman's Song
3. Thirty Days Hath September
4. The Whale
5. The Old Prospector

B Side
1. Grandfather Clock
2. Cooking
3. Shooting Stars
4. Rocket Ship

C Side
1. Dreams
2. Blue Pillow
3. Swing High
4. Clouds
5. Traveling

D Side
1. Bustin' Out Of Doors
2. Comrades
3. All You Need To Make Music