Your Cart is Empty

Charles Mingus

The Lost Album From Ronnie Scott's (3LP)

The Lost Album from Ronnie Scott’s is a never-before-released live recording of jazz icon Charles Mingus from Ronnie Scott’s jazz club in London captured in August 1972. Featuring a stellar band with alto saxophonist Charles McPherson, tenor saxophonist Bobby Jones, trumpeter Jon Faddis, pianist John Foster and drummer Roy Brooks. This 3 LP set is mastered by acclaimed sound engineer Bernie Grundman and pressed on 180-gram vinyl by RTI. Includes an extensive insert with rare photos from Jan Persson, Christian Rose, Jean-Pierre Leloir, Hans Harzheim, among others. Plus, an essay by British jazz author Brian Priestley who saw the band during this run and conducted an interview with Mingus and McPherson at the time. New interviews with Charles McPherson, Mingus’ friend and author Fran Lebowitz, and bass icons Eddie Gomez and Christian McBride are also included. Limited Edition.

Side A:
1. Introduction (1:01)
2. Orange Was The Color of Her Dress, Then Silk Blues (Part 1) (25:18)
Side B:
1. Orange Was The Color of Her Dress, Then Silk Blues (Part 2) (5:26)
2. Noddin’ Ya Head Blues (19:52)
Side C:
1. Mind-readers' Convention In Milano (aka Number 29) (29:57)
2. Ko Ko (Theme) (0:45)
Side D:
1. Fables of Faubus (Part 1) (21:52)
Side E:
1. Fables of Faubus (Part 2) (13:10)
2. Pops (aka When the Saints Go Marching In) (7:17)
Side F:
1. The Man Who Never Sleeps (18:51)
2. Air Mail Special (2:02)